♫ Cedar Trails To You! ♫

I happened to be crossing the bottom half of the state today.  I was on my own and with no fixed schedule, so I decided to not take the most direct route home.  Instead, I detoured a little south and made a stop at Cedar Trails Nudist Retreat (CTNR) in Peebles.  I’ve been wanting to check out this resort for some time, but just never seemed to find the opportunity to drive down that way.

In anticipation of going to CTNR, I decided to do most of my driving naked, with the exception of an unbuttoned shirt.  The net effect is that I’m sitting in the driver’s seat, naked except for the sleeves of the shirt.  I think that this helps to keep people from wondering what is going on in my car if they should notice a totally bare chested man driving down the road.  There’s just something about a naked road trip, sun roof open, windows down and the wind of 65 MPH whipping through the car.  I love it!

CTNR was not difficult to find, but is somewhat off the beaten path.  The resort consists of about 60 wooded acres right on the edge of an old meteor crater in southern Ohio.  Not too far away is the Serpent Mound, sort of a North American analog to Stonehenge in England.

I pulled in and parked in the visitor’s parking lot.  I could see lots of people in and around the pool. By the time I made it to the office, one of the owners was waiting for me.  Pulled out my driver’s license, AANR card and some bucks and before I knew it, I was ready for an afternoon of naked fun.

With the formalities out of the way, I walked back to my car and shucked out of my clothes.  The first thing I wanted to do was find the hiking trails.  The boss  man said, “just head up the hill on any of the roads (there were three) and you’ll find the trails.  They are well marked”.  He was absolutely right, they were very well marked and there are approximately five miles of trails on the property.  My first goal was the “Overlook Trail”.  It runs along the edge of the ancient crater adjacent to CTNR.  I really wanted to see the crater from a high vantage point but, unfortunately, the heavy vegetation of southern Ohio prevented me from seeing the crater.  I was told later that it can be seen during the winter when the leaves are off the trees.  Still, the hike through the woods was great.  Free hiking is one of my favorite things to do.  It’s nice to have a place to do that without worrying about running into textiled people or, worse yet, park rangers!  And as a bonus, I spotted a small herd of deer as I wandered the woods.

It was pretty hot and sticky, so after descending back into the main part of CTNR,  I headed for the outdoor showers and then the pool.  The pool was kind of small, but warm and clean with a max depth of 5′.  Just perfect for lazing around and conversation.  I’m not much for laying around in the sun, but I did for a short time, interspersed with dips in the pool.

After cooling down and re-hydrating, it was time to hit the trails again!  This time I chose the “Hoover Trail”.  It’s the longest of the trails on the property.  (Side note:  None of the trails are particularly difficult with the exception of the vertical climb.  From the entrance of the resort to the highest point appears to be about a 200′ climb.)  All of the trails are very shady and cool in a damp, foresty kind of way.  It was a lovely walk around part of the perimeter of the property.  The worst part of it was that the trails didn’t seem to have been used today and I was constantly breaking spider webs as I walked.  No big deal, I only ended up with one spider on me and it needed very little encouragement from me to bail out!

While walking back down to the pool area, the wind suddenly came up, the temperature plummeted, and ominous clouds came over the horizon.  (Remember that the horizon is very close when one is in a forest)  The pool was much less crowded when I finally got there, but the storm seemed to have bypassed us.  It was time for more water and a cooling dip.

Unfortunately, the time I had available for hanging out au naturale was coming to an end.  I found a chair in the shade where I could let my body dry.  It sure was nice to not have a damp swimming suit clinging to me and keeping me damp!  Folk were bustling about, getting ready for the evening entertainment, I think it was a pot luck dinner and sharing tastes in craft beer.  This seems like a really nice, friendly community.  I could get used to hanging out here!

Finally, I was dry and it was time to go.  Before I got into the car, I put on just my shirt for the drive home.  Why quit being naked if it’s not necessary?  Today was a wonderful day of being dressed, for the most part, the way nature intended!  As I was pulling out of the parking lot, that old Roy Rogers tune, Happy Trails, popped into my head.  Somehow, the lyrics became, “Cedar Trails to you, until we meet again, etc. . . ”  I’m sure you can fill in the rest of it!

SC

Leave a Reply

